Department Profile

The Department of Civil Engineering came into existence in the year 1985 with the inception of the college and celebrated Silver Jublee (1985-2011). Initially, under-graduate programme (B.Tech.) in Civil Engineering was offered with an intake of 60 which was later increased to 120 . The B.Tech. Programme was first approved by AICTE in the year 1993 and first accredited by NBA of AICTE in the year 1998 for 3 years with 'A' grade. It was re accredited in the year 2002 for 5 years with 'A' grade and the latest accreditation was in 2007 for 5 years. In the year 2004, M.Tech. Programme in Structural Engineering was started with an intake of 18 with the approval from AICTE.

The department has the following well established laboratories.

  1. Material Testing
  2. Hydraulics and Hydraulic machinery
  3. Geotechnical Engineering
  4. Transportation Engineering
  5. Environmental Engineering
  6. Surveying
  7. Computer Centre
  8. Engineering Geology

There are 4 faculty members with Ph.D. qualification, 12 faculty members with M.Tech. qualification and the rest are with B.Tech. qualification. The supporting staff are also qualified with D.C.E./B.Sc./ITI . The faculty and supporting staff are actively engaged in teaching , research and consultancy activities .